Share/Save my site


Friday, September 17, 2010

Cd Folklore (Japan, 2003)

2003 Japanese 14-track promo sample CD including two exclusive bonus recordings - Powerless [Say What You Want] - Alternative Acoustic Mix and Try [Acoustic Version], picture sleeve with Japanese/English lyric booklet. Also includes CD-Extra video track "Powerless."

Track Listing
1. One Trick Pony
2. Powerless (Say What You Want)
3. Explode
4. Try
5. Fresh Off The Boat
6. The Grass Is Green
8. Picture Perfect
9. Saturdays
10. Build You Up
11. Island Of Wonder
12. Childhood Dreams
13. Powerless(Say What You Want)- alternative acoustic mix
14. try - acoustic version
15. Powerless [Video]

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Personnel: Nelly Furtado (vocals, acoustic guitar); Caetano Veloso (vocals); Manuela Furtado (whistling); James Bryan (acoustic & electric guitars); Field (acoustic guitar, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, programming); Rafael Gomez (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Mike Elizondo (slide guitar, bass); George Doering (Hawaiian guitar, banjo, cavaquinto, dulcimer, mandolin); Bela Fleck (banjo); Alex Alessandroni (piano, harmonium); Track (harmonium, programming, background vocals); Alan Molnar, Bob Leatherbarrow (vibraphone); Justin Meldal Johnsen (bass); Russ Miller (drums, percussion); Joey Waronker (drums); Gurpreet Chana (tabla); Daniel Stone (percussion); Lil Jaz (programming, vinyl scratches); Kronos Quartet.
Producers include: Track, Field, Nelly Furtado, Lil Jaz, Mike Elizondo.
This edition contains the bonus tracks "Powerless (Alternative Acoustic Mix)" and "Try (Acoustic Version)," as well as the video for "Powerless."
Portugese-Canadian songstress Nelly Furtado's 2000 debut album, WHOA NELLY!, hit like a bolt out of the blue, its single "I'm Like a Bird" becoming a runaway smash. On the follow-up, FOLKLORE, she asserts her staying power straight out of the gate; the first song finds her repeatedly declaring that she's not just a "One-Trick Pony." Musical proof of that statement can be found throughout the album. Where WHOA NELLY! mixed pop, rock, and R&B production techniques, its successor goes further. The aforementioned opening track for example, features accompaniment by renowned new music ensemble the Kronos Quartet, while "Forca" finds Furtado's celebratory exultation framed by the banjo arpeggios of Bela Fleck, mixed with an electronic rhythm track and percolating tabla.
If that's not enough, even the king of Tropicalia, Caetano Veloso, drops in for a duet on the fanciful flamenco-meets-hip-hop reverie "Island of Wonder." The album closes on the quiet, introspective "Childhood Dreams," which slowly builds up moody, atmospheric layers of texture that neatly sign off on Furtado's bid for artistic longevity.

Label: Universal Records (Japan)
Release Date: 04/25/2005
Original Release Date: 2003
Recording Mode: Stereo
Recording Type: Studio
Distributor: MSI Music Distribution


Twitter Facebook Digg Favorites More